Newbie building a digital system

Hi - I am rather new to the digital playback and I want to upgrade using Antipodes - not sure how to go about this.

Currently I use Roon as Software. I run Roon on an iMac. I also use the iMac for storage. I either buy files as download or I rip my CDs using a simple CD-ROM drive and dBpoweramp. I rip CDs to lossless WAV as perfect rip. Streaming is only secondary as I mainly use Qobuz/Tidal to get to know new music, but if I like it, I always buy it - be it as CD or download.

So basically my Mac is my server/storage/Roon core all at once.

I run an ethernet cable from my iMac to my router (nothing fancy or audiophile) and from my router another ethernet connection to my music room. From there the ethernet socket runs a cheapish Audioquest cable into my Auralic Aries G1 - which is my streaming bridge. That runs into the DAC via Coax and then things go their way (McIntosh pre/poweramp and then Wilson Audio Sasha DAWs).

I was thinking about replacing that whole setup ā€œbeforeā€ the DAC. So throwing out the Mac and the Auralic and replacing both with an Antipodes as Roon Core/Server/Bridge, placing the Antipodes in my music room, storing music locally on the Antipodes and running into the DAC straight from there.

Also I would suspect this to be the way to avoid adding noise/jitter due to the signal path I have at the moment with the iMac running through the router and all that. I would only need the ethernet connection to run Roon on the Antipodes - but as it feeds the DAC straight, no need for a switch etc. - right?

I don`t do DSP or other audio processing and I will store about 2-3 TB max. Basically this should replace my CD player as server/transport.

Really not sure how to go about this and with which product to start with.

Also interested in peoples findings - does a properly built digital setup come close to a good vinyl setup?