K50 clock output

Has anyone used the K50’s clock output for anything ? I am curious on its use case.

2 Likes

@MarkCole
Could you give us an example use case ?

1 Like

I have no own experience with this. However, as I understand if you own a DAC with compatible clock-in option you can sync the K50 with the DAC. Depending on the DACs quality clock this might very well be a significant improvement.

2 Likes

Bump… @MarkCole or anyone else thank you in anticipation.
Any answers what this clock output can be used for ?
Set ups and examples.
What is the specification ?
:confused:

1 Like

I have the same question too. Though for the S20 in my case. I had thought/hoped it was an input (ie to take a master clock reference). As an output it’d be great i’m sure but can’t think of any DACs that have a clock input off the top of my head.

The regular TEAC & higher end Esoteric DAC ranges, along with DCS & Antelope audio are some examples that will accept clock inputs. I’m sure there must be others, but I’ve never really looked into it.

The K50’s reclocker features an excellent clock. I’m guessing that it didn’t add much to the cost of the K50 to provide a dedicated output for this signal, so they added it despite there not being many audiophile DACs that would benefit from it.

It’s my understanding that for DACs that do have a word clock input, separating out the master clock this way can bring better sound quality. It makes sense that it would as it’s not optimum to have the clock travel down the same cable as the one carrying the data that represents the music.

@kennyb123 I agree with all you say although I have yet to find any piece of equipment that can accept the Antipodes clock output. Who knows though, maybe Antipodes are developing their own DAC that will accept it?? :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Here’s one with a word clock input: Antelope Zodiac

And another: dCS Bartok

Now whether these can accept the Antipodes clock output, I can’t say.